The Tamarind Seller

The Tamarind Seller

I have decided to have a series of posts dedicated to my portraits of people…its one of my favorite types of photography. To capture for a moment the true essence of a person sans masks or pretense. At the Santha again, I started a conversation with a tamarind seller. She asked me to sit beside her and explain what I was doing taking photographs of them all…she was perplexed that I would be interested in taking shots of such “poor, badly turned out” people. I sat beside her and showed her some of the photographs I had taken and she was amazed at how good some of them looked. She asked me to photograph her and this is one of those snaps. I really liked this lady. She was so pleasant and happy…and beautiful….though she could not see it herself.

3 Responses to “The Tamarind Seller”

  1. Lovely as ever. Arunima, would love to meet you some day..You have no idea, how much we have in common. Not trying to promote my blog but check this out..http://jumble-rumble-thoughts.blogspot.in/2012/02/on-my-morning-walk-today-around-6-am.html

Leave a Reply

